Tortilla Soup – Sabroso Saturday

In case you haven’t heard, MsLatina has started a new trend for bloggers. Sabroso Saturday is an opportunity to share recipes, and check out recipes from other bloggers.

I have taken Sabroso Saturday as a challenge to find healthy versions of favorite meals.

One of my favorite treats at Mexican restaurants is tortilla soup, something I never see in any other Latino restaurant. Lucky for me, I found this recipe from Lifetime’s Cook Yourself Thin, which adds chicken and subtracts calories.

Tortilla Soup

Serves 4
Calories per serving of soup: 165
Calories per serving of garnishes: 95

1 pound chicken tenders, cut into strips
1 can (14.5 ounces) reduced-sodium chicken broth
1 can chopped tomatoes
1/2 cup water
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoons ancho chile powder, or your favorite chile powder

To garnish:
1 jalapeño chile, cut into rings
12 baked tortilla chips
1/2 cup shredded light Monterey Jack cheese
2 scallions, thinly sliced
1/4 cup cilantro, finely chopped
3 tablespoons reduced-fat sour cream
1 lime, cut in wedges

1. In a large pot, bring chicken, broth, tomatoes and water to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until chicken is cooked through, about 6 to 8 minutes.

2. Add the salt and chile powder, and taste, adding more chile powder if desired. Divide soup among serving bowls, and top with garnishes.

Now, isn’t that easy? Make it at home, satisfy that craving for spicy. Pass me the jalapeño slices!

Thanks, MsLatina, for making nutrition so much easier to discuss with my teen. I’m looking forward to cooking this at home, and giving the recipe our unique twist.

3 thoughts on “Tortilla Soup – Sabroso Saturday

  1. Can you believe I have never tasted Tortilla soup? I’m going to try it at home, I’m sure my boys, esp. my teen, would LOVE this!

    Thanks for joining in Sabroso Saturday! I’m loving this meme and everyone’s recipes!

  2. Hi Ofelia!

    Q rrrrrrico! I love tortilla soup, I usually order it at the mexican restaurant for lunch sometimes. It usually looks a little greasy but this sounds light and healthy. Yum!

    -Rachel

Questions? Comments? Share!

