cooking · daughter · food · kitchen · Latino · parade · recipe · Sabroso Saturday

Ultimate Nachos – Sabroso Saturday

Last week at the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, my daughter and I were awed, impressed, overwhelmed with emotion as the floats passed us. Favorite celebrities and characters mingled with marching bands, clowns and other entertainers. Let’s be honest – I squealed in delight at the Peanuts float, then sat up straight afterward to search for Alton Brown on the Food Network float, all the time trying to catch my teenager smiling.Alton Brown

Now as the holidays rush towards us, I find myself  frazzled and checking my calendar for commitments with school, home, family and friends. My daughter and I got in a little bit before 9pm tonight (Friday) and I realize about 10pm .. ADM (ay dios mio) tomorrow is Saturday! So I searched for a recipe by Alton Brown that would be snack-worthy. A minimum of kitchen time, but enough work to qualify as cooking for a party. Yes, I can be sneaky – don’t tell anybody, okay?

Oops, I digress. Here, without further ado, I give you Mr. Alton Brown’s recipe for ULTIMATE NACHOS. Why ultimate? Oh let’s see – there’s two countem two different cheeses, plus fresh oregano leaves on top, then the whole concoction is served with salsa, guacamole AND sour cream.

Try this and tell me if we can call him an honorary Latino. Notice how he uses some aluminum foil balled up to separate wire racks. This way, we can cook all the chips and serve in 3 platters to keep everyone moving through the party. That’s typical Good Eats Alton Brown: part Mr. Wizard, part MacGyver, with totally yummy results.

Ingredients

Ultimate Nachos

  • 80 corn tortilla chips, approximately 8 ounces
  • 3 to 4 jalapenos, thinly sliced*
  • 4 1/2 ounces diced red onion, approximately 1 cup
  • 6 ounces finely grated Cheddar, approximately 2 1/4 cups
  • 6 ounces finely grated Oaxaca cheese, approximately 2 1/4 cups
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh oregano leaves
  • 2 cups fresh salsa
  • 2 cups sour cream
  • 2 cups guacamole

Directions

*Cook’s Note: Depending on your heat preference, you may remove the seeds from the jalapenos or leave them intact.

Set 1 of the oven racks on the lowest shelf and preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Line a baking pan with parchment paper. Make 8 (2-inch) balls out of aluminum foil. Spray 3 wire cooling racks with non-stick cooking spray and place 1 of the aluminum balls in each of the corners of 2 of the racks.

Lay 1/3 of the chips on one of the racks. Top each chip with a jalapeno slice and sprinkle the chips with 1/3 of the red onions, and 1/3 of both the Cheddar and Oaxaca cheeses. Repeat with the remaining chips and the other 2 racks. Stack the racks on top of one another and set into the parchment lined baking pan. Bake in the oven on the bottom rack for 7 minutes or until the cheese begins to bubble. Sprinkle with fresh oregano. Serve immediately with the salsa, sour cream, and guacamole.

If you don’t know, MsLatina started the concept of Sabroso Saturday over the summer. It has grown in range from East Coast to California, with certain bloggers translating the recipes to English AND Spanish. So far we have covered appetizers, beverages, breakfasts, entrees, salads and snacks. I always make sure to have a filling meal before reading the other blogs

9 thoughts on “Ultimate Nachos – Sabroso Saturday

  1. I love nachos! I should be in bed right now but I’m drooling over this recipe. Crap, now I’m starving. lol I’ll post mine in the morning. Let’s see what I come up with.

  2. Lisa – I hope you got to sleep at a decent hour.
    Caro – I didn’t see any other comments submitted (let’s blame the gremlins for that).
    Yoly – what do you think of maybe chunks of raw bell peppers instead of jalapenos? The look would be similar, but without the spice.

Questions? Comments? Share!

