book · fruit · recipe · Sabroso Saturday · week · ww - Wordless Wednesday

Fancy Fruit – Sabroso Saturday

If you saw my Wordless Wednesday post this week, you may have noticed one of the books – with a black spine .. James Beard’s Perfect Cocktail-Party Book (Hors d’Oeuvre and Canapés). For foodies this needs no explanation. For non-foodies, let’s just say James Beard is right up there. Like George Lucas is to movies. A ground-breaker. So imagine my reaction at finding James Beard’s book, with all pages undamaged except a little fading.

So far my favorite idea for entertaining is Mr. Beard’s item on Strawberries. He shares with us:

A famous English hostess who entertained a great deal in the summer at her large country place had a very simple idea which was always extremely popular. It was this: in addition to large trays of tempting canapés and hors d’oeuvre she always served huge bowls of strawberries, plenty of sugar, and heavy cream, arranged on tables in various parts of the garden and in the house. These were replenished after each attach by the horde; and they were always in the direct line of attack, I can assure you. Simple but satisfying.

This description of an English summer fruit snack made my mouth water. I went to my store and found strawberries. I turned them over and saw they were already mushy (yuck), so I bought plums and blackberries. They were just right. Not rock-hard or squishy.

Here’s what I did:

  • Chop plums (actually, my daughter did this)
  • Defrost frozen whipped topping (time depends on size of tub).
  • Arrange plum slices and whole blackberries on plate.
  • Spoon out some whipped topping into a bowl.
  • Stir in flaked coconut to whipped topping.
  • Pour out some sparkling sugar into a second bowl.
  • Pour out some chocolate sprinkles into a third bowl.
  • Dip plum slices into coconut whipped topping, then sugar.
  • Dip plum slices into coconut whipped topping, then chocolate sprinkles.
  • Poke blackberries with toothpicks.
  • Dip blackberries into coconut whipped topping, then sugar.
  • Dip blackberries into coconut whipped topping, then chocolate sprinkles.
  • Serve in champagne glasses.

Fruit
Fruit

YUM! I ate two glasses of fruit.

For more yummy SabrosoSaturday recipes, make sure to check in with MsLatina – she shares a recipe every week, then other bloggers (like me) add links to recipes.

5 thoughts on “Fancy Fruit – Sabroso Saturday

  1. Love how you decorated the fruit like that and made the fruit pose too. LOL I love fruit so this would be something I would definitely make. Hopefully my Sabroso Satuday recipe will be up tomorrow. Not feeling the blogging today. I was with my fam watching shows and movies all day long. Cooking dinner now while I sneak to check out the recipes. LOL TTYL

Questions? Comments? Share!

