comfort · food · home · mom · recipe · Sabroso Saturday

Kid-Safe “Almost” Vodka Sauce – Sabroso Saturday

Lately, Mom and I have been craving comfort food, especially vodka sauce. Instead of buying it at the Italian market (aah .. just the way Nonna makes it – cream, vodka and calories) we decided to make our own at home without vodka. Impossible, you say? Well it’s not because I made it, and it tasted awesome. (Not to toot my own horn or anything). The recipe was super-easy too.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups white beans
  • 2 cups marinara sauce
  • Spices (I used black pepper and red pepper)

Mash the beans – or put them in a blender until they are no longer whole. Put them in a small pot along with marinara sauce and your favorite spices. Let the mixture warm up on medium heat. Once it’s simmering, pair the sauce with your favorite pasta.

Almost Vodka Sauce
Almost Vodka Sauce

So what do you have to lose? Calories?

** Mom note ** We’re not Italian, we don’t have a Nonna. We do enjoy eating Italian food. Lesli really enjoys cooking. She didn’t realize until I explained to her, that liquor is used when making vodka sauce “Nonna’s way”. Then I mentioned that most regular recipes use heavy cream, and she was ready to try something new. We had this “almost” vodka sauce on Monday night, aka Meatless Monday.

Remember to check with MsLatina for her Sabroso Saturday recipe, and links to recipes from other bloggers!

8 thoughts on “Kid-Safe “Almost” Vodka Sauce – Sabroso Saturday

  1. YUM! Penne alla Vodka is probably one of my favorite pasta dishes but I rarely eat because of how fattening and healthy it is thanks to the cream. But this is an interesting, healthy alternative! I’ll to give this a try! Thanks for sharing!

  2. That’s a good and healthy alternative. Like Miggy said, also good on the wallet but, you know me, I prefer the vodka both in my sauce and a little while I am cooking! Wepa!

  3. What a great way to hide the beans. This would be perfect for my 5 year old who hates beans or anything that has fiber, lol. Thanks for the tip!

Questions? Comments? Share!

