chicken · food · poetry · Sabroso Saturday · week

Poetry for Sabroso Saturday

I wrote this piece a few years ago – after going about my day at work and finding some harmful comments that two “athletic” type chicks had written about me.

Instead of confronting them directly, I vented to the world at large. These were my feelings at that time. Getting my feelings out through poetry felt so much better than screaming or trash-talking.

If such an incident happened today, I might lecture them on healthy body images – while feeding them each a bucket of fried chicken. That right there would feel like justice!

I love me, don’t you? Response to the skinny b****es

Does my full figure scare you,
My enjoyment of food?
Perhaps you don’t imagine
I like myself nude

You’d never survive
All the places I’ve been
But by calling me FAT
You think I lose, you win

I can display my cleavage
Show a peek of my thighs
Flaunt curves that you envy
With no shame, no disguise

I walk with my head high
My hips sway side to side
But you don’t see the beauty
In a double-digit size

* * * * * * * * * *

I am working on a recipe to share for next week – a snack that will be shared at a church social.

If you’re looking for a recipe this week, please go to MsLatina’s website – follow the links for appetizers, main dishes, desserts and even beverages from other bloggers. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Poetry for Sabroso Saturday

  1. Bravo! “I walk with my head high / my hips sway side to side..” Beautiful poem. Thank you for sharing. Blessings, Yolanda

Questions? Comments? Share!

