book · comfort · cooking · divorce · food · home · kitchen · mom · recipe · Sabroso Saturday · week · wife

Huevos Divorciados – Sabroso Saturday

A few weeks ago I was at my friend Lety’s house. Lety is a book lover, food lover, businesswoman, mom, wife. To put it simply, a woman I admire. Did you catch that bit about book lover? The vocabulary word would be bibliophile, which I really really like to say. Lety has business books, science fiction, romance, art, biographies and my favorite: food books. Not just recipe books, but books that involve food. Sitting in Lety’s house always feels like home. Very safe and comfortable. I grab something off the shelf, ask questions, we start talking about anything or everything..

This last time at Lety’s house I spotted her book Tacos by Mark Miller. This book tells you everything about tacos. How to make them, where to to buy special ingredients, which ingredients to use when, how to fill tacos, what to serve with  tacos. As I flipped through the pages, the photos made me drool. There is even a seafood section!

The recipe that made me laugh was “huevos divorciados”, divorced eggs. In the book, they are served on separate tortillas instead of being separated by a wall of tortilla chips. But I hope you get the idea.

This is Mark Miller’s recipe, the photo below came from Wikipedia.

Huevos Divorciados

Makes 8 tacos, Serves 4 – Heat level 5 (on scale of 1 to 10)
Prep time 20 minutes

  • 1 1/4 cups Green Chile Sauce (recipe in book)
  • 1 1/4 cups Red Chile Sauce (recipe in book)
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 8 large eggs
  • 8 (5 1/2 inch) soft yellow corn tortillas (recipe in book) for serving
  • Garnish: crumbled cooked bacon

Heat the red and green chile sauces in separate saucepans, and keep warm.

Preheat a large, heavy nonstick skillet to medium-low. Melt the butter, then add the eggs and fry sunny side up.

This is a knife and fork taco. For each serving, lay 2 warmed tortillas side by side, open face and overlapping on a plate. Top each tortilla with a fried egg. Spoon some of the red chile sauce around one egg, some green chile sauce around the other.

*NOTE* In my house, the sauces would probably come from jars. Then we would add extra spices or chiles, and use premade tortillas to make the eggs the star of the dish. Since I like my eggs pampered, coddled, over medium, any way that leaves the yolk soft enough to dip, I might occasionally do this presentation below with tortilla chips. I hope to soon make my own tortillas, maybe adding flecks of fresh chiles in the masa.

Huevos Divorciados - photo from Wikipedia
Huevos Divorciados - photo from Wikipedia

This post is part of the Sabroso Saturday blog hop originated by MsLatina. You will find links to recipes from bunches of bloggers recipes at her site – grab a napkin now, because when you start reading all the recipes you might end up licking the monitor!

DISCLOSURE: The link for the Tacos book goes to Amazon. If you buy through that link, I get a percentage of the sale.

3 thoughts on “Huevos Divorciados – Sabroso Saturday

Questions? Comments? Share!

