book · Christmas · giveaway · mom · quote · review · winner

Mi Barrio – Graphic Novel – Lesli’s Review and Giveaway Notice

**Note from Ofelia**

I have been staying up late, waking up early, and disconnecting from social media, to study for final exams. This is Lesli’s review.

I think Mi Barrio is a great graphic novel. Many people only hear of successful people that didn’t struggle to succeed in life. Renteria’s story shows that people from El Barrio can be as successful as the ones you might expect to get far without working very hard.

The quote on the cover made me interested to read it.

Don’t let where you come from dictate who you are, but let it be part of who you become.

I agree 100% with this quote. Half of people who grow up in a Barrio expect to stay there, their whole lives. The other half of the people know there is something better, beyond the barrio where they are growing up.

The part that I would least like to have happen, would be the part where Robert had to pick up his father’s things and a woman came up to him wearing only a robe. I would probably freak out at that situation. I would feel bad for my dad, thinking that was a normal way to live.

One of my favorite parts of the book was when Robert surprised his mom with a new car on Christmas. I can just imagine this moment in real life. Delivering such a gift to his mother, has to be the most amazing feeling in the world.

Robert Renteria will be stopping by today to respond to comments. Anyone leaving a comment will be entered to win a free copy of the book. Final winner must be resident of the continental U.S. Good luck!

FTC Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher as part of a Condor Book Tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

2 thoughts on “Mi Barrio – Graphic Novel – Lesli’s Review and Giveaway Notice

Questions? Comments? Share!

