cheese · food · Lesli · New Jersey · recipe · Sabroso Saturday · salad · week

Almost Caprese Salad – Three Ways! Sabroso Saturday

In case you couldn’t tell from the general tone of my food posts, I really like mozzarella cheese. I mean, I really, really like mozzarella cheese. Fresh mozzarella is soft, almost spongy, mild. Smoked mozzarella is firm, dense and rich. Melted mozzarella is springy, tender and chewy in the best way. I could go on but by now the cheese people are drooling!

Earlier this week (Tuesday?) I was at our local market and spotted the display of mozzarella. I looked around quickly for lettuce, tomatoes and a short line. Yes, express checkout! I called Lesli, gave her the goods and went off to run errands. When I got back she had made one salad for herself using fresh tomatoes, and one for me using sun dried tomatoes. My sun dried tomatoes came from a jar, with olive oil. Before I took my first bite, there was a drizzle of fancy oil – a hostess gift from Chela, when she came to visit us in New Jersey a few months ago.

Caprese Three Ways
Caprese Three Ways

Wednesday, I went out for prosciutto. Lesli got inspired and made salads again. This time she used prosciutto in mine, and still kept hers the same.

If you want precise measurements, you’re about to be disappointed. You should know by now, in our house whatever looks good ends up on the plate. Recipes are suggestions.

So here’s what Lesli did for her salad – which was almost a traditional Caprese salad. For truly traditional Caprese salad, check out what Pioneer Woman did – it’s an amazingly beautiful salad, with ingredients that are easy to find.

Lesli used

Romaine lettuce (chopped)
Fresh juicy tomatoes (sliced and chopped into half-inch cubes)
Mozzarella cheese (sliced and chopped into quarter-inch cubes)

Rinse and dry lettuce. Top with tomato and mozzarella. Drizzle with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, oregano, red pepper flakes – or if you’re lucky, red-pepper-infused oil.

What else can a girl want? Friends to share it. Or maybe a second plate. I have to properly thank Lesli for making that second salad the next night, with prosciutto! The salty tang and texture of prosciutto make it another favorite of mine. But that’s a story for some other time. Maybe next week?

This post is part of the Sabroso Saturday blog hop originated by MsLatina. Check in at her site for links to recipes from other bloggers across the country, and from all corners of the internet. There’s no telling what everyone will cook!

8 thoughts on “Almost Caprese Salad – Three Ways! Sabroso Saturday

  1. I LOVE LOVE mozzarella cheese, too. I don’t eat proscuitto, but a salad with tomatoes, mozz and lettuce, with a dressing, so yum. SO yum!🙂

  2. To give it a Brazilian spin you could make it Minas Cheese ( different from Queijo Fresco but similar in that it is not an “aged cheese” or at least the one from Brasil Legal isn’t aged). Yum! Yum!

Questions? Comments? Share!

