blog · social media · week · ww - Wordfilled Wednesday

Sizzling Summer 3 – Wordfilled Wednesday

This week has been filled with blessings, opportunities, and goodness. There have been moments where I wondered “why me, what did I do to deserve so much goodness”? Then there was a moment yesterday, where I was notified of a pending comment and wondered “why me, what did I do to encourage such hate“?

I stood still, looked around and thought, how did this person find my blog? Do they subscribe, or read regularly? Is there a personal grudge involved? My first thought was to ignore or delete the comment. But that would make me feel like a hypocrite. I did, after all, write a post that ended with a question. I encouraged feedback.

Late last night, while still debating what to do about this comment, I sent out a tweet asking for advice, and got several responses. The opinions were split between approve, or delete. My final decision was to post the comment as an image, and edit to remove the name of the person who was criticized.

Sizzling Summer 3
Sizzling Summer 3

Allow me to quote my college professor.

In this space, you are amongst friends.

Now for my thoughts. Next time I get a comment that makes me feel “icky” it may be ignored or deleted. I feel no guilt or shame for saying that. The beauty of social media is that on my blog, it’s my rules. So here are the rules, for future reference.

  1. No profanity will be used in a post, or tolerated in a comment, on this blog.
  2. If you disagree with something on this blog, please be respectful when stating your point of view.
  3. Please back up your statements with facts or examples.
  4. No personal attacks.

If this is unacceptable, there are many unmoderated sites where you can post your opinion, attack the writer or share your views. Please make no mistake, as long as I write and/or edit the posts on this blog, the basic rules will will be the same as in my home.

If you don’t like something or someone, please do one of the following:

  • Calmly explain why, using civilized language, or
  • Keep it to yourself.

I will now be deleting that pending comment, and updating the blog’s terms of usage.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is my Sizzling Summer Wordfilled Wednesday post. Have a wonderful day!

One thought on “Sizzling Summer 3 – Wordfilled Wednesday

  1. You are absolutely right. Your blog, your rules. I don’t believe in allowing personal attacks either. You should be able to disagree with a comment without attacking the author. If you can’t, go that way –>!

Questions? Comments? Share!

