chicken · dinner · drink · food · Lesli · lunch · recipe · restaurant · Sabroso Saturday

Chicken and Rice (Arroz con Pollo) Wraps – Sabroso Saturday

If you stepped outdoors (in the United States) recently, you will agree that the weather is blistering, sweltering, steaming, fry-an-egg-on-the-sidewalk, HOT! Weather people keep finding new ways to explain why this is happening, how long this will last, and so forth.

All I know is, it’s too hot to turn on the stove. So I decided to make a meal that ANYBODY can make. One knife, a bunch of spoons and forks. A versatile meal or snack. And for the first time on my Sabroso Saturday recipe entries, I will be sharing the PRICE of the food items used. Because when I go to a restaurant the first question is “what looks good?” and the second question is “how much does that cost?”

So here’s what I used to make these arroz con pollo (chicken and rice) wraps for dinner one night.

  • Chicken from hot case at market (about 1/2 pound, $3.29)
  • Rice from hot case at market (about a pound $2.39)
  • Old El Paso black beans ($2.29 at Walgreens)
  • Flatout wraps ($2.99 for 6 at Walgreens)
  • Brad’s Organic Salsa (from my fridge, I think about $2)

There was only a little prep I had to do. The beans went in the microwave – in the pouch – for one minute. While that was going, I chopped the chicken into bite-size pieces.

For Lesli’s wrap, I used rice, beans and chicken. For my wrap, I used rice, beans, chicken and salsa. By the time I was ready to take the first bite of my wrap, Lesli was almost ready for another wrap. Then she took a sip of her icy-cold drink, and asked me to hide the wrap so she could have it for lunch. I am making a note to serve more high-fiber meals in this heat, so we feel full longer.

It’s time now to do the math: the total spent for three wraps was $12.96. We still have a little bit of rice, some beans, two big pieces of chicken, three wraps, and most of the salsa. Not bad, if I say so myself. Now, you tell me if it looks good. Yeah, I used the knife so we wouldn’t have to pick up the whole wrap like a burrito.

Chicken Rice Arroz Pollo Wraps
Chicken Rice Arroz Pollo Wraps

I wrote this post as part of the Sabroso Saturday blog hop originated by MsLatina. She writes a post each week at her site – then other bloggers add links to their recipes. I would suggest grabbing note cards, stocking up on ink for your printer, because you will want to try more than one of these recipes!

**UPDATED** You can use leftover rice, beans, chicken, or any other food that seems like “not enough” for a full meal. Add a tortilla, or any wrap, and even a young child can fix a nutritious snack in only a few minutes. Mom or dad can pre-chop the chicken or meat, and leave everything ready so that the only work left is assembling and microwaving the wrap.

Questions? Comments? Share!

